“New car” no more

My car is less than 1,000 kms away from completing 50,000 kms. It is definitely no longer my “new car”!

8 responses to this post.

  1. .
    This calls for a celebration! Party! Party!! Party!!!

    Where’s the party tonight??

    .

  2. Posted by arnabmukherji on May 3, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    suzuki’s, nissans, honda’s are notoriously long lived. they go anywhere upwards of 300,000 KMS. so conditional on having a suzuki car .. i think you have a pretty “young” car.

  3. Bubai,

    With Indian roads, Delhi drivers (me!), and not-so-great car workshop engineers, it will be very difficult to get 300,000 kms out of this car. This is not to say that I am thinking of changing the car. It is serving me well. As long as it gets me from Point A to Point B comfortably, I’ll not need to change it.

    I will give the same advice to you – Spend as little money as possible on cars (in India). They are for utility, not for pleasure. There are no roads & highways where you would be able to enjoy your expensive car.

  4. Aniket Sa’ab,

    There is no need to plan a party. Just come over. We’ll convince Sahba to make us something nice..

  5. Posted by arnabmukherji on May 6, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I meant 300,000 miles == 540,000 Kms. But yes, your point is well taken that maintenance is taken somewhat indifferently by even car mechanics reducing the car’s lifespan quite a bit. Actually, for the next few months I am thinking of going back to using a cycle instead of buying a new car. It really would have been cool if the MiniCooper was in my budget though – its really a nice car. But I like my Santro a lot too, so perhaps thats the way to go.

  6. If you are comfortable in your Santro, then thats the way to go. However the new Zen Estillo looks like the best car to buy right now for city driving. If I was buying a car today, I will buy this one.

  7. Posted by phoenix nila on May 12, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    a lovely couple and a beautiful blog here 🙂

  8. You know it’s been more than a month since you have posted. I know life is busy… 🙂 but why we have holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

